Cultural Safari Project

I don’t usually think to post my sketches up on here, but in retrospect, I don’t see why I shouldn’t. Sketches are an important process to every artist, whether they’re sketches of a piece commissioned, random doodles enjoyed over a cup of coffee, or observational scribbles. As a student, one of my classes this semester is focussed entirely around the sketchbook and trying to get us back into them, because they are very important. It’s an importance that gets lost in the hustle-bustle, busy-body world of present day. I miss sketching, and so they will be periodically popping up onto my blog, to remind myself and others that there is always time to sit down and draw a little something.


An added twist to this assignment, and to explain the entree title, is that only one of the two sketchbooks I’m required to keep this semester will remain with me. Sketchbooks are often thought to be very personal objects, but as in Illustrator you need to learn to be a little less attached. The school supplied the smaller of my books, and it will be returned to the school, for the KCAI Illustration Library to be kept and used by future students for inspiration– or a good laugh. Exciting, isn’t it? 🙂 Anyway, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

