A Glimpse at Symphony Spot-Illustrations

 

WIP on light board

WIP on light board

 

I wasn’t joking when I said I’d be trying to post up on this thing more often. 🙂

I was contacted by the KC Symphony last week to work on a handful of illustrations for them, and these are some little snapshots of where they’re at. There are 6 total, and I’m still working on the inking process.

What you’re seeing in the second image is how I like to work with my light table to help with time restraints. I did the sketches and got them to a point where I was happy with their tightness and over all appearance. Then, I change the color of the pencil after scanning them in and print them out in some randomly selected light blue hue, which looks really nice when it shines through on a light board. Then, I go back over the illustrations, very slowly, taking the time to get the detail I want, before I will take them all to be scanned and colored in Photoshop– usually with water color washes that have also been scanned.

I’ve been a busy bee!

Leave a Reply

